top of page
  • aedegard

TTPD

I was not ready, I repeat, I was not ready. As 9pm approached on April 18 (midnight April 19 New York time) I settled in with a notebook and pen to dive into the new Taylor Swift album “The Tortured Poets Department”. It already felt like a daunting task, sitting at 16 tracks and a run time of an hour and 5 minutes, I wasn’t sure I could remain focused.


Listening to each track, reading the lyrics line by line, and taking notes I dove into this masterpiece. I regretted not hydrating better throughout the day and not splurging for the “good” tissues. I took a break to gather my thoughts and picked a few tracks to listen to again.


Then it happened… 11pm hits (2am New York time), a notification pops up… it’s a secret double album and she just released 15 more tracks. I don’t know about you, but when I cry I get exhausted, but I was determined to push through.


Taylor is known for her Easter eggs, she leaves breadcrumbs for her fans to follow to unveil upcoming announcements, shows, albums, dates, ect. The number 2 was very obvious to fans as the release approached. Soon to be revealed as a double (2) album released at 2am.


Honestly, the night was a blur. “The Tortured Poets Department” seems to weave in and out of relationships, break ups, loves, haters, and more. It almost feels like a ballet.


I have spent the last few days watching reaction videos and seeing how others interpret the lyrics.


This album is a masterpiece.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page