top of page
  • aedegard

A Love Letter to the NHL pt.1

When relocating to Seattle from Chicago one of the determining factors was that Seattle was finally getting a hockey team in the NHL. I was naive for thinking getting a hockey team and becoming a hockey city were one and the same.


Seattle entered the hockey scene a little too late in my opinion. Established in 1917, NHL is the second oldest professional sports organization only after Major League Baseball. More than 100 years old and Seattle is just now getting a team; when some states/ provinces have multiple teams.

  • New York (3)

    • Rangers

    • Islanders

    • Sabres

  • California (2)

    • Sharks

    • Kings

    • Ducks

  • Florida (2)

    • Panthers

    • Lightening

  • Pennsylvania (2)

    • Flyers

    • Penguins

  • Alberta (2)

    • Flames

    • Oilers

  • Ontario (2)

    • Senators

    • Maple Leafs


Admittedly, I was introduced to hockey later on in life, I have grown to love the game and still sit in awe every game I watch.


Growing up I will admit I was not a hockey fan, I had very little exposure to it. For decades, hell, even before I was born catching a home Chicago Blackhawks game was few and far between. The owner believed broadcasting home games would fail to fill seats at the games and he wanted home games to be specifically for season ticket holders to show the organization’s loyalty to them.


I honestly can’t remember the first hockey game I watched.


Home games started airing somewhere towards the end of the 2007-2008 season. Then in 2010 the Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup for the first time in 49 years. The team continued to do well winning the cup again in 2013 and 2015.


I was hooked.


Junior Reporter Joey asking the tough questions back in 2010:




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page