top of page
aedegard

Book Review: Zodiac Academy:The Awakening

Book Review: Zodiac Academy:The Awakening (Book 1) by Caroline Peckham and Susanne Valenti.


I was hesitant to give this series a try, but after the first installment I am hooked. I wrote the series off thinking it was Young Adult, but it is classified as “New Adult” which peaked my interest. 


First hearing about the series from a girl on TikTok Live I went in blindly, not exactly sure what to expect. The first few pages of any book has me very bored.


I had an instant connection to the two main characters, Darcy and Tory, the Vega twins, because they live in Chicago. I lived in Chicago for seven years before relocating. 

The book starts with some background info on the girls and explains their rough family history that left them alone to fend for themselves. Fast forward to an unknown land to find out the truth of their childhood and real family tree.


The Vega twins have unknown abilities and are Fae, with magic in their blood. The first book in the series follows the twins as they are settling in at the Zodiac Academy. 


Taking classes to harness their abilities and learn the ways of the Fae, the twins encounter some students that are less than happy with their return to Solaria.


Each student has a power: air, fire, water, or earth, which is further enhanced by your zodiac sign. Students also belong to an order, which transforms them physically and behaviorally into a fantastic beast, whether it be vampire, werewolf, dragon, medusa, griffin, hydra… the list goes on and on. 


This first book leaves the reader wanting more. I am already rooting for the Vega twins in the second book. 

4/5 Stars 

Comments


bottom of page