top of page
  • aedegard

Chelsea Dagger - The Fratellis

This song is a little different than the others I’ve dissected here. This song is a major part of my life and not for the reason one might think. Chelsea Dagger is the song that plays when the Chicago Blackhawks score a goal when playing at home in the United Center.


Growing up I will admit I was not a hockey fan, I had very little exposure to it. For decades, hell, even before I was born catching a home Blackhawks game was few and far between. The owner believed broadcasting home games would fail to fill seats at the games and he wanted home games to be specifically for season ticket holders in a show of the organization’s loyalty to them.


I honestly can’t remember the first hockey game I watched. I was a huge White Sox fan at the time. Luckily, I have a father who LOVES Chicago sports, except one certain baseball team that we will not mention here, but it rhymes with subs.


Home games started airing somewhere towards the end of the 2007-2008 season. The next season, 2008-2009, the Blackhawks adopted the song as their goal song. Then, the following season, the Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup for the first time in 49 years. The team continued to do well winning the cup again in 2013 and 2015.


The song blew up. Anytime I watched a game in a bar the song was queued up and waiting for a goal. It became the anthem of the 2010 Stanley Cup run and has stuck.


Anytime this song comes on, no matter where I am, what I’m doing, who I’m with I smile and my mind instantly goes to the Blackhawks. It's an extremely catchy song and stays with you.


The song is actually about the lead singer’s wife who used the stage name Chelsea Dagger (as a play on the name Britney Spears) when she was a burlesque performer.



Tattoo-able Lyric: “I believe”


The Video:



Full Lyrics:

Ooh


Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do


Well, you must be a girl with shoes like that

She said, "You know me well"

I've seen you and little Steven and Joanne

Around the back of my hotel, oh yeah

Someone said you was askin' after me

But I know you best as a blagger

I said, "Tell me your name, is it sweet?"

She said, "My boy, it's Dagger", oh yeah

Woo


I was good, she was hot

Stealin' everything she got

I was bold, she was over the worst of it

Gave me gear, thank you, dear

Bring your sister over here

Let her dance with me just for the hell of it


Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do


Well, you must be a boy with bones like that

She said, "You got me wrong"

I would've sold 'em to you if I could've

Just to've kept the last of my clothes on, oh yeah

Call me up, take me down with you when you go

I could be your regular belle

And I shall dance for little Steven and Joanne

Around the back of my hotel, oh yeah

Woo


I was good, she was hot

Stealin' everything she got

I was bold, she was over the worst of it

Gave me gear, thank you, dear

Bring your sister over here

Let her dance with me just for the hell of it


Chelsea, Chelsea, I believe

That when you're dancin' slowly, suckin', your sleeve

The boys get lonely after you leave

It's one for the Dagger and another for the one you believe

Chelsea, I believe

That when you're dancin' slowly, suckin', your sleeve

The boys get lonely after you leave

It's one for the Dagger, another for the one you believe

The one you believe

Oh, no, no, no, no


Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do-do


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page