top of page
  • aedegard

Closer - Tegan and Sara

Updated: Nov 12, 2022

This one takes me back to the tv show Young & Hungry. It’s in one of the first episodes and it connects the two main characters. I was living in Chicago with my best friend when we decided to binge watch the show and this song was always lurking in the background.


I can’t listen to it without thinking about dancing/jumping, around the living room with my bestie as we scream the lyrics at each other.


Looking at little deeper at the lyrics it reminds me of new love.


“Here comes the breath before we get a little bit closer,  here comes the rush before er touch, a little bit closer… Here comes the heat before we meet, a little bit closer, here comes the spark before the dark, come a little closer.”


This transports me to laying so so so close to someone, breathing in their breath, faces almost touching, but they aren’t.  I’m laying there screaming in my head, “KISS ME”. The anticipation kills me.


The song goes on to say, “it’s not just all physical, I’m the type that won’t get, oh, so critical, so let’s make things physical, I won’t treat you like you’re, oh, so typical.”


Tattoo-able Lyric: I would just choose the work “closer”



The Video:





Full Lyrics:

All I want to get is a little bit closer

All I want to know is, can you come a little closer?


Here comes the breath before we get a little bit closer

Here comes the rush before we touch, come a little closer


The doors are open, the wind is really blowing

The night sky is changing overhead


It's not just all physical

I'm the type who won't get oh so critical

So let's make things physical

I won't treat you like you're oh so typical

I won't treat you like you're oh so typical


All you think of lately is getting underneath me

All I dream of lately is how to get you underneath me


Here comes the heat before we meet a little bit closer

Here comes the spark before the dark, come a little closer


The lights are off and the sun is finally setting

The night sky is changing overhead


It's not just all physical

I'm the type who won't get oh so critical

So let's make things physical

I won't treat you like you're oh so typical


I want you close, I want you

I won't treat you like you're typical

I want you close, I want you

I won't treat you like you're typical


Here come the dreams of you and me

Here come the dreams

Here come the dreams of you and me

Here come the dreams


It's not just all physical

I'm the type who won't get oh so critical

So let's make things physical

I won't treat you like you're oh so typical


I want you close, I want you

I won't treat you like you're typical

I want you close, I want you

I won't treat you like you're typical


I won't treat you like you're typical

I won't treat you like you're typical


All I want to get is a little bit closer

All I want to know is, can you come a little closer?

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page