top of page
  • aedegard

Just Us Two - Steve Aoki & Taking Back Sunday

Updated: Nov 22, 2022

My bias is going to show again because we are again looking at Taking Back Sunday. I think I could do an entire series just on TBS… maybe I will, we will see…


This song helps show the versatility that TBS has. While the song lacks the layering voices TBS is known for it offers something fresh and new with the help of Steve Aoki. This is another great example of artists from different genres teaming up and exposing new sounds to new listeners.


Aoki needs no introduction. He is a master at his craft. He has the ability to take songs to the next level with his mixing and beats. This is basically fact at this point. Aoki has been around the block once or twice and, in my opinion, for the most part can really elevate a song. I say for the most part because TBS and Aoki did a remix of one of TBS' most famous songs, "Cute Without the E" and at first it rubbed me the wrong way, then I gave it a second chance and I still didn't like it. After listening to it 4 or 5 times I realized it is not for me. I'm not sure if it is because "Cue Without the E" is such a legendary song to emo kids everywhere or if the mixing just hit the wrong spot. It's okay not to love everything an artist does, that's the great thing about art. Everyone has their own options, likes, tastes, ect...


One day I was eating lunch in a fast food parking lot that overlooked the start of a trail. This song came on and I thought nothing of it. When I looked over at the trail I saw two dogs. They were just walking along together seemingly alone. It seemed like the perfect soundtrack to the moment. They had an owner, he was just trailing far behind. But seeing these two dogs walking side by side hit me a little different. It was like I was watching a movie or something. It was something so simple yet felt so impactful and pure. It’s a nice memory that pops into my head when I hear this song.

Tattoo-able Lyric: Always remember


The Video:


Full Lyrics:

The air was thick

And our heads were too

You were ten-foot tall

And bulletproof

And I didn't care

But then neither did you

What came next

We didn't have a clue


I remember the way that it felt

I remember the way that it felt

Watched the sun go down

Sitting on your roof

And the air was thick

Yeah our heads were too

Watched the sun come up

Sitting on your roof

Yeah the air was thick

It was just us two


Sixteen times and I

Put it past you

All that said

Still scared to ask

If I didn't care

But that wasn't the truth

What comes next

Didn't have a clue


I remember the way that it felt

Remember the way that it felt

Watched the sun go down

Sitting on your roof

And the air was thick

Yeah our heads were too


These are the days

Always remember

These are the days

Always forever

These are the days

Always remember

These are the days

These are the days


Watched the sun go down

Sitting on your roof

And the air was thick

Yeah our heads were too


These are the days

Always remember

These are the days

Always forever

These are the days

Always remember

These are the days

These are the days


These are the days (Watched the sun go down)

Always remember

These are the days (Sitting on your roof)

Always forever

These are the days (And the air was thick)

Always remember

These are the days (Yeah our heads were too)

These are the days


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page