top of page
  • aedegard

Sanctuary


Nature feels like it is slowly becoming a church or place of worship to me. Having little belief in the traditional religions I often seek hope, peace, love and answers in other ways. Recently, when I need direction or seek guidance I will go hiking.


Now I’ve never been great with certain elements of nature… The sun and I do not agree, like ever. I have an extremely hard time keeping plants alive. I forget to drink enough water daily, but when I start swimming it’s hard to get me out of it. I enjoy the rain and have always felt like the moon is trying to tell me something.


Now when I feel lost in life… questioning, unsure, confused, alone, I find myself venturing out into nature, oppose to sitting still and drowning in thoughts that constantly circle my mind.


The initial thought of being alone in nature terrified me. I mean I was a Girl Scout, but could not tell you anything I learned except how to get the cooking after my parents lied to the troop leader about my sister and my “delicious” fettuccini Alfredo (we put in 1 cup of pepper instead of 1 tablespoon, it was beyond repair).


I found the opposite to be true. I wasn’t scared. Even thinking about it now it really doesn’t even make sense to me. I wander on these trails alone, listening to music, taking pictures, and somehow it makes me feel at peace.


The first time I hiked alone was a few days after I said goodbye to my 15-year-old Boston terrier. I was devastated, completely and physically alone, and very very lost. I packed up a backpack and wondered onto the trail before the sun rose.


Being out there on the trail alone without a single person nearby made me feel alive. It was just me and nature. I did not take my camera with me on this hike, just a notebook. This hike had a purpose. I went out there to try to find peace (it actually says that my notebook scribbles). I was by a small waterfall when the sun rose and remember sitting on a fallen tree to take a break. I was listening to Taylor Swift. It was either Evermore or Folklore, either one was a perfect soundtrack to my journey.





I’m going to post bits & pieces of my future hikes, stay tuned…

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page