top of page
  • aedegard

Special - Charlotte Sands

As promised, some more Charlotte! After “Loved You a Little” came out I decided I needed to give Charlotte a deeper listen. This was the first song that came on when I pressed shuffle. This song speaks to me so much. I have had my share of booty calls, one night things, and boys who say I’m so different from other girls they’ve dated.


I feel like I could have written a very similar song. This makes Charlotte very approachable and was an awesome introduction to her catalog of songs. Being able to relate to an artist helps me connect with them and their lyrics.


How many of us have been told we are special? When I hear I’m special, especially from someone I’m interested it changes things. The gears in my head start turning and reclassifies the other person as significant, if that makes any sense. It makes me feel “special”. Throughout the song Charlotte explores this and the feelings along with it.


Being told I’m special and different (in a good way) changes how I feel. It makes me believe that there is something about me that no one else has, it makes me unique, it makes me worthy of others' love. In the song Charlotte talks about how the other person decided they would be better as friends, even though they continue to call her to only hook up. Ultimately, making her realize she’s “not that fuckin' special”.


Tattoo-able Lyric: "Special"


The Video:



Full Lyrics:


We met at a party

I made you nervous, trippin' on your feet

You spilled my drink

And you said sorry

Told you you could make it up to me

We went from kissing on the bathroom floor

To stealing all your hoodies 'til you got no more

Swore you'd never met a girl like me before


You say that I'm so special

I'm sick of being special


Now you're callin' me up almost every single week

If I'm everything you want

Why you saying maybe we'd be better as friends

It's so easy how you let go

Guess I'm not that fuckin' special


I know all your secrets

You know all my favorite bands

No conversation, you don't need it

Only talking to me if your

Hands are on my body taking off my shirt

Saying that you want me only makes it hurt

Your compliments are killin' me they make it worse


You say that I'm so special

I'm sick of being special


Now you're callin' me up almost every single week

If I'm everything you want

Why you saying maybe we'd be better as friends

It's so easy how you let go

Guess I'm not that fuckin'

Girl that you want

Only want me late at night

When you're feeling all alone

We both know this isn't right

Stop trying to pretend

It's so easy how you let go

Guess I'm not that fuckin' special


Everybody likes you I'm not the first

Damn it feels like we're in high school

You're such a flirt

Always actin' like you're holy

Shit you're the worst

Bet I'd be your girlfriend if I went to church

And despite me, I keep hitting you back

And your narcissistic tendencies are making me mad

Cause if I'm such a prize

Why would you make me drive

Get me drunk and not let me stay over


Now you're callin' me up almost every single week

If I'm everything you want

Why you saying maybe we'd be better as friends

It's so easy how you let go

Guess I'm not that fuckin'

Girl that you want

Only want me late at night

When you're feeling all alone

We both know this isn't right

Stop trying to pretend

It's so easy how you let go

Guess I'm not that fuckin' special

Special, yeah

Guess I'm not that fuckin' special

Special

Guess I'm not that fuckin' special


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page