top of page
  • aedegard

Tell It To My Heart - Meduza feat Hozier

I can’t remember how exactly I came across this song, but I was so happy when I did. If you aren’t familiar with Hozier, they had a very popular song, “Take Me to Church”, which let’s be honest will probably end up on my mixed tape. "Take Me to Church" has an incredible music video and there is an amazing video of them performing in a subway station with awesome acoustics, which you can watch here: https://youtu.be/1nnRC6jDOCI.


His voice is so soulful, deep, it almost feels like it hits me differently than other voices, deeper. It legit feels like it hits my soul. I feel like I can talk for hours about his voice alone. Listening to the subway video really gives you a great example of his control, range, soulfulness, and overall mastery of his voice.


His voice:

  • is his weapon

  • hits different

  • invades your soul in a good way

  • memorable

  • rich

  • solid

  • unedited

  • so so so controlled

  • deep

  • soulful

  • undeniable


Not only does this song combine Hozier’s soulful, soul-invading voice, it is accompanied by poppy, electronic beats provided by Meduza, who has partnered with a list of A-Team musicians in recent history; Florence + The Machine, Dermot Kennedy, Becky Hill, Goodboys, James, Carter to name a few, not to mention countless remixes including Ed Sheeran "Bad Habits" which can be seen here: https://youtu.be/BeszToy5RyY


Meduza has been gaining traction in the dance and EDM world. In my opinion comparable to a newer Disclosure.


Meduza's ability to marry different types of music together helps them when creating the dance, house, EDM anthems of the modern day.


I think what drew me into this song was that combination. When asked what kind of music I like, my default is to say sad emo stuff, which is true, but it’s naive to think you can describe your musical tastes in one genre. “Tell It To My Heart” brings together multiple genres and in my opinion it works.


Collaborations like this are very popular right now. Artists see that they have the ability to bring together listeners from different genres and introduce them to new music, artists, genres, and art.


You get poppy, electronic, danceable music with meaningful lyrics, and an undeniable voice. To me it is a lovers last effort at connecting with their love. They want this is bad, they want it to work, they need to be shown the love that they feel for the other person.


Tattoo-able Lyric: “tell it to my heart”


The Video:



Full Lyrics:

I can't work you out

Are you thinking 'bout something better?

Holding onto you

While you drag me through stormy weather


The only time you smile is in the photographs

And when I pull you close, it's like you're holding back

Before we turn to strangers tryna love in the dark


Tell it to my heart

'Cause I can't keep guessing

If it's me you're missing

Tell it to my heart

'Cause the sound of silence

Is a place we're dying


Tell it to my heart, heart

Tell it to my heart, heart


Tell it to my heart

'Cause I can't keep guessing

If it's me you're missing

Tell it to my heart

'Cause the sound of silence

Is a place we're dying

Tell it to my heart


Before a light goes out

Come and tell me now if something's fading

'Cause I can feel it in

Every single thing that you're not saying


You move close to me but I can feel a space

Whatever time we have, I'm not gonna waste

Before we turn to strangers tryna love in the dark


Tell it to my heart

'Cause I can't keep guessing

If it's me you're missing

Tell it to my heart

'Cause the sound of silence


Tell it to my heart, heart

Tell it to my heart, heart


Tell it to my heart

'Cause I can't keep guessing

If it's me you're missing

Tell it to my heart

'Cause the sound of silence

Is a place we're dying

Tell it to my heart

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page