top of page
  • aedegard

The Wolf - Mumford & Sons

Updated: Nov 12, 2022

This one was a little harder for me to decipher than others. I remember the first time I heard this song. I remember where I was living, who I was dating, and how he made me feel.


I really clung onto the lyric “Cause you were all I  ever longed for”. It’s such a powerful lyric. Imagine having someone say this to you, let alone sing it to you. Who doesn’t want that, who doesn’t want to feel desired and loved and longed for…


Every time I hear this song my mind automatically goes a guy and there are nothing but good memories. I remember how he made me feel and how this song captured how I felt.


I recently looked up the lyrics to make sure I was hearing and interpreting them correctly…. Boy, was I off, not by a lot, but still missed the mark pretty hard. I thought it said, “Been wOndering for days” when it is “been wAndering for days” which in this context is very different.


I took this song and turned it into a love song, a story. To me the song is a story of a person who has forgotten about me, I’ve slipped their mind, but how, how could they let me slip their mind when they are all I’ve ever longed for…


Turns out that the song, from what I’ve been able to find is very much based on God and religion. Most of the sources I found mention the play on fear and love, which does translate for me. And though my interpretation is different than the songs intention or meaning it does not take away how I feel when I listen to it. Being something that someone has ever longed for doesn’t seem like a bad place to be.


What are your thoughts, feelings, interpretations?


Tattoo-able Lyric: “Cause you were all I ever longed for”


The video:





Full Lyrics:


Wide-eyed with a heart made full of fright

Your eyes follow like tracers in the night

And the tightrope that you wander every time

You have been weighed, you have been found wanting


Been wandering for days

How you felt me slip your mind

Leave behind your wanton ways

I wanna learn to love in kind

'Cause You were all I ever longed for


Sheltered, you better keep the wolf back from the door

[Album version:] He wanders ever closer every time

[Music video version:] He wanders ever closer every night

And how he waits, baying for blood

I promised you everything would be fine


Been wandering for days

How you felt me slip your mind

Leave behind your wanton ways

I wanna learn to love in kind

'Cause You were all I ever longed for


Hold my gaze love, you know I want to let it go

We will stare down at the wonder of it all

And I—I will hold you in it and I—I will hold you in it


Been wandering for days

How you felt me slip your mind

Leave behind your wanton ways

I wanna look you in the eye

'Cause You were all I ever longed for


Been wandering for days

How you felt me slip your mind

Leave behind your wanton ways

I wanna learn to love in kind

'Cause You were all I ever longed for


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page